top of page
  • Writer's pictureEryk White

Door Texturing

Hello all! It's been a while since I posted, so I just wanted to provide an update on some of the texturing. For the set props, I wanted to have a fun and bold style that has a lot of character. Some problems with this, however, are making sure that the props themselves are cohesive and also blend in with Nicky himself. Siobhan and I were interested in a style that has highlights along the edges to give a bit more stylized feel. After texturing for a bit, though, I realized that this approach might work better for the character since he has a more curved appearance that lends itself to various pockets of light and shadow. As such, I tried to incorporate some softer highlights on the edges of my objects while also relying on different surface materials to provide a fun feel. Out of some of the initial examples, Siobhan preferred this orange piece. I enjoyed the "frosted" edge highlights, but was told to make them a bit cleaner.


I used this feedback to make changes for some of the other pieces, as seen in the render below. I still have to re-uv the one object and connect a few more maps, but overall I enjoy the style. While some of the highlights looked a bit harsher in substance, they appear more subdued in the render. With this in mind, I might have to make their layer opacity higher. Furthermore, I need to use better lighting to bring out some more of the surface texture itself. Overall though, I am feeling better about where the textures are at and I am excited to continue.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page